|Monday, March 31, 2014
You are here: Home » Munich Life » Munich Hammer Freiburg to Finish Strong
  • Follow MunichNOW on

Munich Hammer Freiburg to Finish Strong 

Munich RFC 56-0 Freiburger RC
Match reports from the Munich Rugby website (edited)

Following their first defeat of the season, the MRFC players wanted to respond. The entire club, the city of Munich, even the entire region was behind the Lions on the opening day of the 2013 Oktoberfest. A victory against Freiburg would consolidate their second place in the table. After a rousing speech from the coach, the Lions began the game in the best possible way. Sandro Tschaidse scored after only three minutes, catching a beautiful kick by Xavier Mora. After an exchange of possesion, the home side’s number ten Fred Begards, perfectly analysed the opposing defence, looking to spread the play. Both tries from Tim McBride and Bart Vanheuverzwijn were identical: An attack starting on the left wing, followed by two rucks and a quick pass to the back line. At halftime, the hosts were 22-0 ahead.

MRFC returned to their strength in the lineout to dominate at home against Freiburg. Photo: MRFC

The second half time started with more of the same but with a different style. During the break, the coach asked for more from his forwards and they responded with some solid play. The best example was Alan Moughty’s second try - a collective recovery of 80 meters. Xavier Mora took advantage a few minutes before scoring his second with a dummy pass, that set up some nice play through the forwards.

The last try was scored by Adrien Codron, a rewarded for the winger’s very good display. The final score was 56-0. All of Bavaria could breath again and properly enjoy two weeks of Oktoberfest.

Man of the match: Fred Begards

München RFC: 1. Quentin Degroote (46’ Alex Loders), 2. Simon Laurich (48’ Maxime Gelly), 3. Roger Hutchinson, 4. Richard Schuster, 5. Kevin Briggs (c) (70’ Guilherme Buff), 6. Tom Grealish, 7. Philipp Mack (41’ Lucas Marchi), 8. Scott Warner (41’ Alan Moughty), 9. Xavier Mora, 10. Frederic Begards, 11. Sandro Tschaidse, 12. Timothy McBride, 13. Oliver Brothwood (69’ Caiel Harnischfeger), 14. Adrien Codron, 15. Bart Vanheuverzwijn (46’ Cyril Joder)

Tries: Xavier Mora (2), Alan Moughty (2), Sandro Tschaidse, Timothy McBride, Bart Vanheuverzwijn, Kevin Briggs, Maxime Gelly, Adrien Codron
Conversions: Alan Moughty (2), Oliver Brothwood

Related Stories:

Add a Comment

− 3 = two